REMINDER: Digital Scholarship @ Vanderbilt Univ Libraries webinar is next week
From: John Burger (
Date: Fri, 17 Aug 2018 12:20:49 -0700 (PDT)

ASERL Friends:

A quick reminder that the next in our "Digital Scholarship Show & Tell" 
sessions, focusing on the offerings at Vanderbilt, will take place next week 
(Tuesday, Aug 21 at 2pm ET).  Please see the detailed description below.  The 
current registration list is below as well, FYI.

WEBINAR:  Digital Scholarship Show & Tell #2 -- Vanderbilt Univ Libraries 
DATE / Time:  August 21, 2018  |  2pm ET / 1pm Central Time

Digital Scholarship at Vanderbilt is broadly defined and library support is 
project-oriented. This webinar will offer three examples of digital scholarship 
projects at Vanderbilt and the libraries role in supporting those projects, as 
well as scholarly communications services in support of digital scholarship. 

Digital Scholarship for Comparative Media Analysis and Practice: Madeleine 
Casad, Senior Lecturer, Cinema and Media Arts, Associate Director, Vanderbilt 
Center for Digital Humanities. Vanderbilt University recently established a new 
joint-PhD program in Comparative Media Analysis and Practice (CMAP). Madeleine 
will speak about Library collaboration in CMAP’s intensive summer programs, 
where students gain most of their digital scholarship skills. 

Hannah Arendt: Complete Works. Critical Edition. Digital and print. Ramona 
Romero, Librarian for Anthropology, Philosophy, and Classical and Mediterranean 
Studies. Ramona will discuss the digital component of this hybrid edition, 
which will include diplomatic transcriptions of Hannah Arendt’s published and 
unpublished works in TEI-XML. 

Tiny Data Working Group: Veronica Ikeshoji-Orlati, CLIR Postdoc Fellow. Tiny 
Data is data for the qualitative analyses which characterize humanistic 
inquiry, the documentation of personal interactions with the observable world. 
The group meets once a week during the semester to investigate software and 
other digital tools as well as discuss theoretical implications of approaching 
data from a Tiny Data perspective. 

Scholarly Communication as support for Digital Scholarship: Elisabeth Shook, 
Copyright and Scholarly Communications Librarian. Elisabeth explores concerns 
associated with the long term storage, preservation, and access to digital 
projects. She will discuss strategies to reach out to practitioners to 
encourage and educate them to think beyond the finished project to how it will 
be shared and preserved. 

REGISTRATION LIST - As of Aug 17, 2018
1. Clemson University   Brenda  Burk
2. Clemson University   Gail    Julian
3. College of William & Mary    Sara    Belmont
4. College of William & Mary    Georgie Donovan
5. Duke University      Emily   Daly
6. East Carolina        William Thomas
7. East Carolina University     Lucas   Berrini
8. Emory University     Jennifer        Doty
9. Emory University     Anne    McLean
10. Florida International University    Zhaohui Fu
11. Florida International University    Jamie   Rogers
12. Florida State University    Devin   Soper
13. George Mason University     Wally   Grotophorst
14. George Mason University     Michael Hunter
15. Georgia State University    Laura   Burtle
16. Georgia State University    Jeff    Steely
17. independent Carlin  Sappenfield
18. James Madison University    Kevin   Hegg
19. Johns Hopkins University    Robin   Sinn
20. Louisiana State University  Gina    Costello
21. Mississippi State University        Claudia Holland
22. Tulane University   Sean    Knowlton
23. Tulane University   Jane    Pinzino
24. Tulane University   Jeff    Rubin
25. Tulane University   Kevin   Williams
26. UNC Charlotte       Somaly  Kim Wu
27. UNC Charlotte       Michael Winecoff
28. UNC Greensboro      Tim     Bucknall
29. UNC Greensboro      Anna    Craft
30. University of Central Florida       Mary    Rubin
31. University of Kentucky      Adrian  Ho
32. University of Kentucky      Jennifer        Hootman
33. University of Kentucky      Treshani        Perera
34. University of Kentucky      Mary Beth       Thomson
35. University of Louisville    Rachel  Howard
36. University of Louisville    Bruce   Keisling
37. University of Memphis       Bess    Robinson
38. University of Miami Paige   Morgan
39. University of Mississippi   cecilia botero
40. University of Mississippi   Gail    Herrera
41. University of Mississippi   Christina       Torbert
42. University of South Carolina        KATE    BOYD
43. University of South Carolina        Amie    Freeman
44. University of South Carolina        Megan   Oliver
45. University of South Florida Melanie Griffin
46. University of South Florida Matthew Knight
47. University of South Florida Barbara Lewis
48. University of Tennessee     Michelle        Brannen
49. University of Tennessee     Meredith        Hale
50. University of Tennessee     Anchalee        Panigabutra-Roberts
51. University of Virginia      Suzanne Bombard
52. University of Virginia      Chip    German
53. UT Rio Grande Valley        Justin  White
54. Vanderbilt University       Clifford        Anderson
55. Vanderbilt University       Calida  Barboza
56. Vanderbilt University       Paula   Covington
57. Vanderbilt University       Tina    Qin
58. Virginia Commonwealth University    Jimmy   Ghaphery
59. Virginia Commonwealth University    Erin    White
60. Virginia Tech       Corinne Guimont
61. Virginia Tech       Virginia (Ginny)        Pannabecker
62. Wake Forest University      Heather Barnes
63. Wake Forest University      Molly   Keener

These sessions are available at no cost to ASERL members and guests, and will 
be recorded for later playback.  Please feel free to share this information 
with other librarians & staff who may be interested.  Our webinars are licensed 
under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International 
License.  After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing 
information about joining the webinar.   
System Requirements:       

 We hope this proves to be of interest.  Please let me know any questions or if 
you encounter difficulties with our e-meeting system.  Thanks!


John Burger, Executive Director
Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) c/o Robert W. Woodruff 
540 Asbury Circle, Suite 316
Atlanta, GA  30322

  • (no other messages in thread)

Results generated by Tiger Technologies Web hosting using MHonArc.