2017 GODORT Award Winners
From: Cheryle Cole-Bennett (ccole-bennettaserl.org)
Date: Mon, 27 Mar 2017 05:50:05 -0700 (PDT)

Congratulations are in order for a number of our colleagues from the ASERL region! 


         Judy Russell, Dean of University Libraries at the University of Florida is the winner of the James Bennett Childs Award. The Childs Award is a tribute to an individual who has made a lifetime and significant contribution to the field of documents librarianship, and is based on stature, service, and publication.


         The Florida State University Libraries Government Documents Depository and Mohamed Berray, Coordinator for Government Information at FSU, have been selected for the ProQuest/GODORT/ALA "Documents to the People" Award. This award honors an individual, library, institution, or other non-commercial group that has most effectively encouraged the use of government documents in support of library service.


         Philip (Phil) Yannarella, Government Documents Librarian at Northern Kentucky University’s Steely Library is the winner of the Bernadine Abbott Hoduski Founders Award. This award recognizes documents librarians who may not be known at the national level but who have made significant contributions to the field of state, international, local or federal documents. The award recognizes those whose contributions have benefited not only the individual's institution but also the profession.


         Hayley Johnson of Nicholls State University and Sarah Simms of Louisiana State University are the recipients of the NewsBank/Readex/GODORT/ALA Catharine J. Reynolds Research Grant.  This award provides funding for research in the field of documents librarianship, or in a related area that would benefit the individual's performance as a documents librarian or make a contribution to the field.


         Stephani Rodgers, Depository Coordinator at the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) Libraries and an MLIS student at the University of South Carolina, is the recipient of the W. David Rozkuszka Scholarship.   The scholarship provides financial assistance to an individual who is currently working with government documents in a library and is trying to complete a Masters Degree in library science.


         This was also the first year for the Larry Romans Mentorship Award, which went to Lisa Janicke Hinchiffe, Professor and Coordinator for Information Literacy Services and Instruction, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  The Romans Mentorship Award is co-sponsored by GODORT and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) with the purpose of recognizing librarians who, through their sustained mentoring efforts, have made a difference in our profession.


For more information ? http://wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/Announcing_the_2017_GODORT_Awards_Winners


Kudos to all!



Cheryle Cole-Bennett, Program Coordinator

Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL)

? Robert W. Woodruff Library

540 Asbury Circle, Suite 316

Atlanta, GA  30322-1006

Telephone:  470-222-4960

ccole-bennett [at] aserl.org


Results generated by Tiger Technologies Web hosting using MHonArc.